AN ACT TO DECLARE MARCH EIGHT OF EVERY YEAR AS A WORKING SPECIAL HOLIDAY TO BE KNOWN AS NATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY.

## EINAL TITLE

S. No.	1430
Final Action	
R. A. NO.	6949

AN ACT

TO DECLARE MARCH EIGHT OF EVERY YEAR AS AN OFFICIAL HOLIDAY TO BE KNOWN AS THE NATIONAL WOMEN'S DAY.

Introduced by Senator Rasul

Introduced by Senator Rasul on January 25, 1990; Read on FIRST READING and referred to the Committees on Constitutional Amendments, Revision of Codes and Laws; and Women and Family Relations on January 26, 1990; Senators Salonga, Laurel, Guingona, Jr., Enrile, Maceda, Alvarez, Angara, Aquino, Gonzales, Herrera, Lina, Jr., Mercado, Osmeña, Paterno, Pimentel, Jr., Romulo, Saguisag, Shahani, Tañada and Ziga were made coauthors on mation of Sanaton Pagul on February 16, 1990. on motion of Senator Rasul on February 16, 1990; Returned by the Committees on Constitutional Amendments, Revision of Codes and Laws) and Women and Family Relations per Ctte. Rpt. No. 987, recommending its approval with amendments on March 2, 1990; Submitted said report to the Senate on March 5, 1990; Pimentel, Jr., Paterno, Lina, Jr., Shahani, Tañada, Saguisag, Enrile, Maceda, Alvarez, Angara, Aquino, Gonzales, Herrera, Mercado, Romulo, Osmeña and Ziga; Assigned for consideration by Special Order on March 5, 1990; Sponsorship speech by Senator Lina, Jr. on March 6, 1990; Interpellations by Senators Guingona, Jr., Herrera, Paterno, Estrada, Ziga and Saguisag on March 6, 1990; Period of amendments on March 7, 1990; Passed on Second Reading with amendments on March 7, 1990; Printed copies distributed to the Senators on March 8, 1990; Passed on Third Reading on March 12, 1990; In favor: (20) - Alvarez, Angara, Aquino, Enrile, Estrada, Gonzales, Guingona, Jr., Herrera, Laurel, Lina, Jr., Maceda, Mercado, Osmeña, Paterno, Pimentel, Jr., Romulo, Saguisag, Tamano, Tañada and Ziga; Against: N o n e; Abstention: N o None; Sent to the House of Representatives requesting concurrence

on March 13, 1990;

Senate requested the House of Representatives for a conference on the disagreeing provisions of S. No. 1430 and H. B. No. 28379 designating Senators Rasul, Lina, Jr., Maceda and Enrile as its confirees on March 21, 1990;

House of Representatives agreed to the request of the Senate for a conference on the disagreeing provisions of S. No. 1430 and H. B. No. 28379, designating Congressmen Garcia (P), Montejo, Congresswomen Puyat-Reyes, Verano-Yap and Gordon on March 21, 1990;

Conference Committee recommended that S. No. 1430 in consolidation with H. B. No. 28379 be approved;

Conference Committee Report agreed to by the Senate on April 4, 1990;

The Bill was presented to the President of the Philippines

on April 6, 1990;
Approved by the President of the Philippines on April 9, 1990;
REPUBLIC ACT NO.6949.

Conference Countles Report agree He hay
the Arune of Representation on April 4, 1990;