CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES NINETEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 8257

BY REPRESENTATIVES DIMAPORO (M.K.), FERRER (J.M.), CO (E.), QUIMBO, MENDOZA, LIBANAN, ALBANO, DELOS SANTOS, GARIN, GONZALEZ, PALMA, PRIMICIAS-AGABAS, TEVES (J.), ALVAREZ (M.), ALVAREZ (J.), AQUINO, BAUTISTA-LIM, BERNOS, BONGALON, CABREDO, CAJAYON-UY, CARI, CO (A.N.), CUA, CUARESMA, DEL MAR, DUJALI, FUENTEBELLA, LARA, LIMKAICHONG, LOYOLA, NAVA, SALIMBANGON, SINGSON (R.V.), TIANGCO, UMALI, VARGAS-ALFONSO, YAP (ERIC), YU (D.G.), ZAMORA (M.C.), ZUBIRI, ABALOS, ALMARIO, AMANTE, ANG, ATAYDE, BASCUG, BOSITA, BUSTOS, CARDEMA, CHATTO, CHUNGALAO, CO-PILAR, CRUZ (A.), CRUZ (R.), DAGOOC, DIMAPORO (S.A.), DIONISIO, DY (F.M.C.), EUDELA, FORTES, FRESNEDI, GARCIA (D.), GARDIOLA, GO (M.), GOLEZ, GUTIERREZ, HERNANDEZ, KHONGHUN, LAGON (D.), LAGON (S.), LAZATIN, MACEDA, MANGAOANG, MANIQUIZ, MATIBAG, MERCADO, NOGRALES (M.), OUANO-DIZON, PANALIGAN, PANCHO, PLAZA, PLEYTO, REVILLA (R.J.), RODRIGUEZ (E.), SALI, SANTOS, TAN (J.), TULFO (J.), UNABIA, VARGAS, VERGARA, VERZOSA, YAP (C.), BULUT-BEGTANG, DALOG, GASATAYA, GOMEZ, MARAÑON, ROMULO, SALO, TEVES (A.), VILLA, VILLAFUERTE (L.R.), YULO AND ZAMORA (Y.M.), PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 571

AN ACT

CREATING TWO (2) ADDITIONAL SHARI'A JUDICIAL DISTRICTS COMPRISING THE NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION AND THE CENTRAL VISAYAS REGION, CREATING SHARI'A DISTRICT COURTS AND SHARI'A CIRCUIT COURTS THEREIN, AND APPROPRIATING FUNDS THEREFOR, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE ARTICLES 138, 147, AND 150 OF PRESIDENTIAL DECREE NO. 1083, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "CODE OF MUSLIM PERSONAL LAWS OF THE PHILIPPINES", AS AMENDED

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

	•	

SECTION 1. Article 138 of Presidential Decree No. 1083, otherwise known as the "Code of Muslim Personal Laws of the Philippines", is hereby amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE 138. Shari'a judicial districts. – [Five] **SEVEN** special judicial districts, each to have one Shari'a District Court presided over by one judge, are constituted as follows:

- (a) The First Shari'a District shall comprise the Province of Sulu;
- (b) The Second Shari'a District, the Province of Tawi-Tawi;
- (c) The Third Shari'a District, the Province provinces of Basilan, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog, Pagadian and Zamboanga;
- (d) The Fourth Shari'a District, the provinces of Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur, and the Cities cities of Iligan and Marawi; [and]
- (e) The Fifth Shari'a District, the Provinces provinces of Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat, and the City of Cotabato[.];
- (F) THE SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION; AND
- (G) THE SEVENTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE CENTRAL VISAYAS REGION."
- **SEC. 2.** Article 147 of the same law is hereby amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE 147. Permanent stations; offices. – (1) The Shari'a District Courts shall have their respective permanent stations in the following places:

- (a) First Shari'a District, Jolo, Sulu;
- (b) Second Shari'a District, Bongao, Tawi-Tawi;
- (c) Third Shari'a District, Zamboanga City;
- (d) Fourth Shari'a District, Marawi City;
- (e) Fifth Shari'a District, Cotabato City;
- (F) SIXTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE CITY OF MANILA; AND
- (G) SEVENTH SHARI'A DISTRICT, THE CITY OF CEBU.
- (2) The Shari'a District Courts may hold sessions anywhere within their respective districts.
- (3) The provinces, cities or municipalities concerned shall provide such courts with adequate court office, supplies and equipment in accordance with the provisions of the Judiciary Law."

SEC. 3. Article 150 of the same law is hereby amended to read as follows:

"ARTICLE 150. Where established. – (1) Shari'a Circuit Courts shall be established as follows:

- (a) Six such courts in the Province of Sulu;
- (b) Eight in the Province of Tawi-Tawi;
- (c) Ten in and for the Provinces of Basilan, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga del Sur, and the Cities of Dipolog, Pagadian, and Zamboanga;
- (d) Twelve in and for the Provinces of Lanao del Norte and Lanao del Sur and the Cities of Iligan and Marawi;
- (e) Fifteen in and for the Province of Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat and the City of Cotabato[.];
- (F) FOUR IN AND FOR THE NATIONAL CAPITAL REGION, TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF MANILA, CITY OF SAN JUAN, CITY OF TAGUIG, AND QUEZON CITY; AND
- (G) THREE IN AND FOR THE CENTRAL VISAYAS REGION, TO BE STATIONED IN THE CITY OF MANDAUE, CITY OF LAPULAPU, AND CITY OF TALISAY, PROVINCE OF CEBU.
- (2) The territorial jurisdiction of each of the Shari'a Circuit Courts shall be fixed by the Supreme Court on the basis of geographical contiguity of the municipalities and cities concerned and their Muslim population."
- **SEC. 4.** The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court shall immediately include in the Court's program the operationalization of the newly created Shari'a Judicial Districts, Shari'a District Courts and Shari'a Circuit Courts.
- **SEC. 5.** The funds necessary for the implementation of this Act, including appropriations for personnel services such as salaries, benefits and emoluments for judges and court personnel, court operations under maintenance and other operating expenses (MOOE), and provisions for Halls of Justice or courtrooms to accommodate judges and court staff, shall be included in the annual General Appropriations Act.
- **SEC. 6.** Articles 138, 147 and 150 of Presidential Decree No. 1083, otherwise known as the "Code of Muslim Personal Laws of the Philippines", as amended, and all other laws, rules and regulations which are inconsistent with this Act are hereby amended, repealed or modified accordingly.
- **SEC. 7.** This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the *Official Gazette* or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,