## **HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES**

## H. No. 8083

BY REPRESENTATIVES ESCUDERO, ROMULO, LUSOTAN, ABUEG-ZALDIVAR, SAULOG, LACSON, LAZATIN, CABREDO, DALOG, BARBA, BASCUG, ERIGUEL, CUARESMA, OLIVAREZ, ROBES, ACOP, REYES, DE VENECIA, SAVELLANO, SY-ALVARADO, NIETO, LACSON-NOEL AND VILLARICA, PER COMMITTEE REPORT NO. 615

## AN ACT

INCLUDING A NATIONAL ARTIST AS A MEMBER OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR CULTURE AND THE ARTS, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 7356, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "LAW CREATING THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR CULTURE AND THE ARTS"

Be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 9 of Republic Act No. 7356, otherwise known as the "Law Creating the National Commission for Culture and the Arts," is hereby amended by providing an additional subsection, to read as follows:

"Section 9. Composition. – The Commission shall be composed of the following members:

- a) [the] Undersecretary of the Department of Education[, Culture and Sports];
- b) [the] Undersecretary of the Department of Tourism;
- c) [the] Chair[man]PERSON of the House Committee on BASIC EDUCATION AND Culture;
- d) [the] Chair[man]PERSON of the Senate Committee on EDUCATION, ARTS AND Culture;
- e) [the] President of the Cultural Center of the Philippines;
- f) [the Executive Director] CHAIRPERSON of the National Historical [Institute] COMMISSION OF THE PHILIPPINES;
- g) [the] Director GENERAL of the National Museum OF THE PHILIPPINES;
- h) [the] Director of the National Library OF THE PHILIPPINES;
- i) [the Director] CHAIRPERSON of the [Institute of Philippine Languages] KOMISYON SA WIKANG FILIPINO;
- j) [the] EXECUTIVE Director of the [Records Management and Archives Office] NATIONAL ARCHIVES OF THE PHILIPPINES;
- k) [the] Executive Director of the Commission;
- 1) [the] Head of the Subcommission on Cultural Communities and Traditional Arts;
- m) [t]Three (3) representatives from the private sector who shall be the elected heads of the THREE (3) SubcommissionS identified hereunder, namely: the Subcommission on Cultural Heritage, the Subcommission on the Arts, and the Subcommission on Cultural Dissemination. They shall be elected by the chairpersons of the national committee under their respective Subcommissions[.];

28 29

1 2

3

4

5 6

7

8

9 10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

1	N) A REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE ORDER OF THE NATIONAL ARTISTS
2	WHO SHALL BE ELECTED BY THE MEMBERS FROM AMONG
3	THEMSELVES.
4	
5	The Chair[man]PERSON of the Commission shall be elected by the members from among
6	themselves."
7	
8	SEC. 2. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in the Official
9	Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.
10	
11	Approved,