CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS First Regular Session

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## H. No. 735

BY REPRESENTATIVES ESCUDERO, DELOSO-MONTALLA, CHAVEZ, FERRER (J.), GO (M.), SALCEDA, BAGATSING, GONZALES (A.P.), RAMOS, AGGABAO, SARMIENTO (E.M.), LOBREGAT, MARCOLETA, ERIGUEL, ARAGONES, SUANSING (H.), BULUT-BEGTANG, PRIMICIAS-AGABAS AND SUANSING (E.)

AN ACT INCLUDING TWO (2) NATIONAL ARTISTS AS MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR CULTURE AND THE ARTS, AMENDING FOR THE PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 7356, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE "LAW CREATING THE NATIONAL COMMISSION FOR CULTURE AND THE ARTS"

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Section 9, paragraph "m" of Republic Act No. 7356, otherwise known as the "Law Creating the National Commission for Culture and the Arts", is hereby amended to read as follows:

"SEC. 9. Composition. - The Commission shall be composed of the following members:

"a) x x x

"ххх

1

2 3

4

5 6

7

8

9

10

11

"m) three (3) representatives from the private sector who shall be the elected heads of the three (3) Subcommissions identified hereunder, namely: the Subcommission on Cultural Heritage, the Subcommission on the Arts, and the Subcommission on Cultural Dissemination. They shall be elected by the chairpersons of the national committees under their respective Subcommissions[.]; AND

"N) TWO (2) NATIONAL ARTISTS, WHO ARE DULY RECOGNIZED IN ACCORDANCE WITH EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 236, OR THE 'HONORS CODE OF THE PHILIPPINES', AND WHO SHALL BE CHOSEN IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE GUIDELINES TO BE SET BY THE COMMISSION.

9 "The Chairman of the Commission shall be elected by the10 members from among themselves."

11SEC. 2. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication12in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.

Approved,

2

3

4 5

6

7 8

0