CONGRESS OF THE PHILIPPINES SIXTEENTH CONGRESS Second Regular Session

,

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. No. 4588

By Representative Del Rosario (A.G.), per Committee Report No. 299

AN ACT DIVIDING BARANGAY MAGUGPO IN THE CITY OF TAGUM, PROVINCE OF DAVAO DEL NORTE INTO FIVE (5) DISTINCT AND INDEPENDENT BARANGAYS TO BE KNOWN AS BARANGAY MAGUGPO POBLACION, BARANGAY MAGUGPO EAST, BARANGAY MAGUGPO WEST, BARANGAY MAGUGPO NORTH AND BARANGAY MAGUGPO SOUTH

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled.

1 SECTION 1. Division of Barangay Magugpo. - Barangay Magugpo 2 in the City of Tagum, Province of Dayao del Norte is hereby divided into 3 five (5) distinct and independent barangays to be known as: (1) Barangay 4 Magugpo Poblacion; (2) Barangay Magugpo East; (3) Barangay Magugpo 5 West; (4) Barangay Magugpo North; and (5) Barangay Magugpo South. 6 SEC. 2. Territorial Boundaries. - The territorial boundaries of 7 each barangay created in the immediately preceding section shall be as 8 follows:

(1) Barangay Magugpo Poblacion

9

10

11

12

"Beginning at a point being the road junction of Sobrecarey Street, Pioneer Avenue, Pagsabangan Road and Dalisay Road, thence; South 53 East, traversing centerline of roadway up to the junction of Pioneer Avenue and

- 1 Seminary Drive; North 54 East, following Seminary Drive up to crossing
- 2 Domingo Subdivision Road; South 85 East, passing Domingo Subdivision
- Road up to its junction with the National Highway; South 40 West, following
- 4 National Highway to Magugpo Crossing; South 53 30' East, to Crossing
- 5 Gamao Road; North 87 West, to Junction National Highway and Lapu-Lapu
- 6 Street; South 40 West, passing National Highway up to Crossing Sobrecarey
- 7 Street; and North 2 30 East, passing Sobrecarey Street, to the point of
- 8 beginning. Bearings true.

Bounded on the North along Pioneer Avenue, Seminary Drive and Domingo Subdivision Road, by portion of Barangay Magugpo West and Barangay Magugpo North on the Southeast along National Highway, by Barangay Magugpo East and Visayan Village and on the West, by Barangay Magugpo South."

(2) Barangay Magugpo East

"Beginning at a point being the junction of National Highway and Apokon Road, thence; North 40-00' East, traversing the National Highway to crossing New Corella Provincial Road; South 54 00' East, passing the boundary between Magugpo and Barangay Magdum up to Hijo River, Southwest, following down stream of Hijo River up to the South corner of lot 381-B-2, Northwest direction passing the boundary between Barangay Apokon; South 23 00' West, passing boundary between Zafra Subdivision, Barabad Compound and Pilar Village of Barangay Apokon up to Apokon Road; and North 47 30' West, passing Apokon Road to the point of beginning. Bearings true.

Bounded on the Northeast, by Barangay Magdum, on the Southeast, by Hijo River, on the South by Barangay Apokon, on the Southwest, by Barangay Visayan Village, and on the Northwest, by Barangays Magugpo Poblacion and Magugpo North."

(3) Barangay Magugpo West

"Beginning at a point being the junction of Pioneer Avenue and Seminary Drive, thence; North 53 00' West, traversing Pioneer Avenue and Pagsabangan Road up to the boundary between Barangay Magugpo and Barangay Mankilam; South 45 00' East, to the road at Purok Santol connecting Seminary Drive; and, South 14 00' West, following the road and Seminary Drive to the point of beginning. Bearings true.

Bounded on the North, by Barangay La Filipina on the East, by Barangay Magugpo North on the Southeast, by Barangay Magugpo Poblacion on the Southwest, by Barangays Magugpo Poblacion and Magugpo South, and on the Northwest, Barangay Mankilam."

(4) Barangay Magugpo North

"Beginning at a point being the junction of National Highway and New Corella Provincial Road, thence; South 40 East, passing National Highway to crossing Domingo Subdivision Road; North 53 West, following Domingo Subdivision Road to its junction with Seminary Drive; North 20 30 East, following along Seminary Drive up to the North corner of lot 602 of Purok Santol; North 79 30 East, following the boundary with Barangay La Filipina up to the Provincial Road; and South 67 00 East, passing Provincial Road to the point of beginning. Bearings true.

Bounded on the North and Northeast, by Barangays La Filipina and Magdum, on the Southeast, by Barangay Magugpo Poblacion, and on the Northwest, by Barangay Magugpo West."

(5) Barangay Magugpo South

"Beginning at a point being the junction of Sobrecarey Street, Pagsabangan Road, Dalisay Road and Pioneer Avenue, thence; Highway, South 2 30' West, traversing Sobrecarey Street, up to its junction with the National Highway; South 37 30' West, passing National Highway to the South

corner of lot 1 owned by Vicente Gonzales; South 38 00' West, to the next 1 2 corner of the same lot; South 73-30', passing South of lot 715-B-2-C, owned 3 by Chiong "Oy" Uy to the South corner of lot 715-C-2, owned by Sol Ruales; 4 South 83-30' West, to the South corner of lot 2778, 721, passing further along 5 the boundaries between Sison Subdivision, Cervantes District, Teacher's 6 Village, and the Barangays of San Miguel and Mankilam up to Pagsabangan 7 Road; and South 63-30' East, following Pagsabangan Road to the point of 8 beginning. Bearings true. 9 Boundaries on the Northeast, by Barangay Magugpo West, on the East, 10 by Barangay Magugpo Poblacion, on the South, by Barangay Visayan Village, 11 and on the West, by Barangays San Miguel and Mankilam." 12 SEC. 3. Conduct and Supervision of Plebiscite. - The plebiscite conducted and supervised by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) in 13 14 Barangay Magugpo pursuant to Provincial Ordinance No. 2, S-1993 of the Province of Davao del Norte, which ratified the division of the barangay into 15 16 five (5) distinct and independent barangays, namely: Barangay Magugpo 17 Poblacion; Barangay Magugpo East; Barangay Magugpo West; Barangay Magugpo North; and Barangay Magugpo South, as proclaimed by the 18 19 Plebiscite Board of Canvassers on September 4, 1994, shall serve as substantial compliance with the plebiscite requirement under Section 10 of 20 Republic Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the "Local 21 22 Government Code of 1991". 23 SEC. 4. Incumbent Barangay Officials. - The incumbent barangay 24 officials of Barangay Magugpo Poblacion, Barangay Magugpo East, Barangay Magugpo West, Barangay Magugpo North and Barangay Magugpo South of 25 the City of Tagum, Province of Davao del Norte shall continue to hold office 26

until such time that their successors have been duly elected and qualified.

27

| SEC. 5. Public Infrastructures and Facilities All existing public |
|--|
| infrastructures and facilities for public use existing therein at the time of the |
| approval of this Act are hereby transferred without cost or compensation to |
| and shall be administered by the new barangays. |
| SEC. 6. Internal Revenue Allotment Shares All barangays herein |
| created, namely: Barangay Magugpo Poblacion, Barangay Magugpo East, |
| Barangay Magugpo West, Barangay Magugpo North, and Barangay Magugpo |
| South shall be entitled to Internal Revenue Allotment (IRA) shares pursuant to |
| Section 285 of Republic Act No. 7160, as amended, otherwise known as the |
| "Local Government Code of 1991". |
| SEC. 7. Separability Clause If, for any reason, any part or provision |
| of this Act is declared unconstitutional or invalid, the other parts or provisions |
| which are not affected thereby shall continue to be in full force and effect. |
| SEC. 8. Effectivity This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after |
| its publication in the Official Gazette or in any newspaper of general |
| circulation. |
| |

Approved,