Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

Senate

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

First Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 27

RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUR MEMBERS OF THE NAVAL SPECIAL OPERATIONS GROUP (NAVSOG) OF THE PHILIPPINE NAVY, NAMELY, GUNNERSMATE THIRD CLASS JAY SOGUITAN. FIREMAN FIRST CLASS MACHINERY REPAIRMAN MICHAEL ABRIO. SEAMAN SECOND CLASS QUARTERMASTER RUEL PERALTA, AND SEAMAN SECOND CLASS RADARMAN JOE VINCENT PRESTOZA. WHO WERE KILLED IN ACTION DURING AN ENCOUNTER WITH THE ABU SAYYAF ON OCTOBER 1, 2007, IN LANJIL ISLAND. BASILAN

WHEREAS, on October 1, 2007, soldiers of the Armed Forces of the Philippines, specifically members of the Philippine Navy's Naval Special Operations Group (NAVSOG) had an encounter with pirates and lawless elements later on identified as an Abu Sayyaf Group led by Abdulrajak Sadikal in Lanjil Island off the northeast coast of Basilan, resulting in the death of four members of the NAVSOG, namely, Gunnersmate Third Class Jay Soguitan, Fireman First Class Machinery Repairman Michael Abrio, Seaman Second Class Quartermaster Ruel Peralta, and Seaman Second Class Radarman Joe Vincent Prestoza;

WHEREAS, the NAVSOG is considered the elite force of the Philippine Navy and the equivalent of the US Navy Seals;

WHEREAS, the slain NAVSOG members have been honoured posthumously by the Armed Forces of the Philippines with the Gold Cross Medal, the third highest award in the Armed Forces of the Philippines after the Medal of Valor and the Distinguished Conduct Star;

WHEREAS, these young soldiers have demonstrated their bravery and gallantry in action and have laid down their lives in the line of duty and in defense of our flag and our country, and deserve the eternal gratitude of our people and our proud nation;

WHEREAS, the Senate recognizes and honors the death of the four NAVSOG soldiers as heroic, contributing to the strengthening and protection of our freedoms and sovereignty: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To honor and express the eternal gratitude of our people and our nation to the following members of the Naval Special Operations Group who perished in the line of duty during an encounter with the Abu Sayyaf on October 1, 2007, in Lanjil Island, Basilan:

- 1. Gunnersmate Third Class Jay Soguitan;
- 2. Fireman First Class Machinery Repairman Michael Abrio;

- 3. Seaman Second Class Quartermaster Ruel Peralta; and
- 4. Seaman Second Class Radarman Joe Vincent Prestoza

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on November 5, 2007.

EMMA LIRIG-REYES
Secretary of the Senate