Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 147

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE FIFTY-THREE FILIPINO STUDENTS WHO WON PRIZE AWARDS, CERTIFICATES OF HIGH DISTINCTION AND PRUDENCE IN THE AUSTRALIAN MATHEMATICS COMPETITION AND THE SIX FILIPINO STUDENTS WHO GARNERED PERFECT SCORES IN THE 2008 RIO TINTO BIG SCIENCE COMPETITION

WHEREAS, the Constitution, Article II, Section 13 provides: "The State recognizes the vital role of the youth in nation-building and shall promote and protect their physical, moral, spiritual, intellectual, and social well-being. It shall inculcate in the youth patriotism and nationalism, and encourage their involvement in public and civic affairs";

WHEREAS, the *Philippine Star*, in an article entitled "Australia Honors Fifty-Nine (59) Pinoy Whiz Kids", dated 16 October 2008, reported that forty-eight (48) young Filipino math wizards won honors in the Australian Mathematics Competition (AMC) conducted by the Australian Mathematics Trust (AMT);

WHEREAS, it was reported that Australian Ambassador to the Philippines Rod Smith and Professor Peter Taylor of the AMT handed out prize awards and certificates of high distinction to the forty-eight (48) students who joined the AMC last July;

WHEREAS, the ten (10) Filipino students who were given the prize awards were: Immanuel Incarnacion of the Philippine Science High School-Main; Henry Jefferson Morco and Dann Julius Tan of Chiang Kai Shek College; John Russel Virata of Gideon Academy; Jose Enrico Leceta of the Science Education Institute; Mikaela Angelina Uy, Vince Say, Austin Chua, Seanne Ng, and Carmela Antoinette Lao, all from St. Jude Catholic School;

WHEREAS, according to the report, thirty-eight (38) other Filipino students received Certificates of High Distinction, namely: Cary Albert Chan, Kevin Brian Branzuela, Justin Co, Adrian Sy, Matthew Ryan Tan, Czarina Lao and Andrew Sy, all of St. Jude Catholic School; Andrea Borbe and Ezekiel Christian Ong of UNO High School; Vanessa Joy Denoman of SPED Integrated School for Exceptional Children; Scott Chua and Mario Antonio Ongkiko of Xavier School; Marc Adrian Yu of St. Stephen's High School; Jason Carlo Carranceja of Grace Christian High School; Miguel Angelo Tolentino of East Rembo Elementary School: JustinYturzaeta of Jubilee Christian Academy; Raenelle Ean Ngo and Matthew Ng of Chiang Kai Shek College; Deany Hendrick-Cheng of Grace Christian High School; Keith Yu and Martin Koa of St. Jude Catholic School; Isaiah Lee and Miguel Sebastian Santos of Philippine Science High School-Main; Michael Brodeth of Colegio de San Agustin-Makati; Brendon Go of Xavier School; Amiel Sy and Arvin Wilson Alba of Philippine Science High School-Main; Angelo Miguel Lorenzo of Science Education Institute; Ryan Yu and Marquis Tan of Xavier School; Alvin Uy Lim of Quezon City Science High School; Aldric Cristoval Reyes of Chiang Kai Shek College; Zheng Rong Wu of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School: Earl Chua, Aileen Giselle Chua and Lu Kevin Ong of Grace Christian High School; Carlo Francisco Adajar of PAREF Southridge Private School for Boys; and Percival Byron Bueser of the Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila;

WHEREAS, it was also reported that Certificates of Prudence were also awarded to Philip Lizarda of San Beda College-Alabang; Mikaela Angelina Uy of St. Jude Catholic School; Jeremy Vance Yap of Grace Christian High School; Angelina Baniqued of Saint Paul College-Pasig; and Ricci Ryan Rojo of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School;

WHEREAS, it was reported that also honored during the ceremony were six (6) Filipino students who garnered perfect scores in the 2008 Rio Tinto Big Science Competition administered by the Australian Science Innovations, namely: Joanna Santelices and Elvis Jeremy Ayroso of Philippine Science High School-Main; Aeron Jason Virata of Aquinas University Science High School; Goldielyn Suzanne Limsiy of Grace Christian College; Marquis Alexander Tan and Raphael Lesmond Ku of Xavier School:

WHEREAS, Dr. Simon Chua, president of the Mathematics Trainers' Guild-Philippines who prepared the Filipino students for the AMC tilt and other international math competitions, said that the Filipino students competed with their counterparts from Australia, Hong Kong, Bulgaria, China, Indonesia, India, Thailand, Singapore, New Zealand, Taiwan, and Malaysia in the AMC;

WHEREAS, the AMT is an organization comprising representatives from the University of Canberra, Australian Academy of Science, Australian Mathematical Society, Australian Association of Mathematics Teachers, and a number of academic and corporate representatives; while the AMC, which was established in 1978, is an international correspondence math competition, which tests everything from the students' basic numeracy skills to advanced problem solving;

WHEREAS, these various honors and achievements won by Filipino students only show that our students can compete, and win, against the best students in the world, thus, making not only their families and teachers proud, but also to the whole country as well: Now, therefore, be it Resolved, as it is hereby resolved by the Senate of the Philippines, To commend the fifty-three (53) Filipino students who won prize awards, certificates of high distinction and prudence in the Australian Mathematics Competition and the six (6) Filipino students who garnered perfect scores in the 2008 Rio Tinto Big Science Competition.

Adopted,

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on November 18, 2008.

President of the Sena

0