P. S. Res. Nos. 579 and 581

> Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines

> > Senate

Pasay City

Hourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

RESOLUTION No. 105

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE BRAVERY OF LT. COL. ANGEL M. BENITEZ, PFC. ELEUTERIO C. CABIASAN JR. AND PFC. CESAR D. MANABAY DURING THE MILF ATTACK IN KOLAMBUGAN, LANAO DEL NORTE

WHEREAS, on August 18, 2008, the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) guerillas attacked several towns in Lanao del Norte following the Supreme Court's issuance of a temporary restraining order against the signing of the Memorandum of Agreement on Ancestral Domain between the government and the MILF;

WHEREAS, Lt. Col. Angel M. Benitez, together with Pfc. Eleuterio C. Cabiasan, Jr. and Pfc. Cesar D. Maynabay, was among those "mercilessly executed" by Moro guerillas in Kolambugan, Lanao del Norte;

WHEREAS, despite under hostile situation they heroically performed their duty, with Lt. Col. Benitez serving as an eye for reinforcement troops despite the harsh conditions he was in;

WHEREAS, Benitez, an executive officer of the 102nd Army Brigade and chief of operations of Task Force Tabak, was an alumnus of the Philippine Military Academy (PMA) Class of 1990 (Bigkis Lahi);

WHEREAS, Benitez, who hailed from Barangay Bato, Naguillan, La Union, topped almost all the military courses, won several Bronze Cross Medals and Military Merit Medals, and this year, he finished as the head of his class at the General Staff College (GSC) after taking a course required for promotion to full colonel and to command a battalion;

WHEREAS, Benitez, Cabiasan and Maynabay deserve to be honored and commended for ther unparalleled dedication to serve and protect the country: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, as it is hereby resolved, That the Senate honor and commend the bravery of Lt. Col. Angel M. Benitez, Pfc. Eleuterio C. Cabiasan Jr. and Pfc. Cesar D. Maynabay, during the MILF attack in Kolambugan, Lanao del Norte.

Adopted,

MANNY VILLAR

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on September 1, 2008.

EMMA LIRIO-REYES Secretary of the Senate