FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session

8 NOV -6 71.55

HECENED BY:

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. ____**738**___

INTRODUCED BY HON. MANNY VILLAR

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE FILIPINO STUDENTS FOR WINNING 39 MEDALS IN 2008 INTERNATIONAL MATHEMATICS COMPETITION HELD IN CHIANG MAI, THAILAND

WHEREAS, Philippine delegates garnered a total of 39 medals during the recently concluded 2008 International Mathematics Competition (IMC) held in Chiang Mai, Thailand from October 25-31;

WHEREAS, Filipino students hauled two (2) gold medals, fifteen (15) silvers and twenty two (22) bronze medals;

WHEREAS, Ma. Czarina Angela Lao from St. Jude Catholic School, who was the lone gold medalist from the country in the elementary individual competition, won the first gold medal for the Philippines;

WHEREAS, the other gold medal was won by Philippine Team A composed of Geraldine Baniqued of St. Paul College Pasig, Carmela Antoinette Lao of St. Jude Catholic School, Aileen Giselle Chua of Grace Christian High School and Jillian Kristel Sy of Chiang Kai Shek College;

WHEREAS, Philippine Team A in the elementary bagged a silver medal in the team competition. They are Austin Edrich Chua, Ma. Czarina Angela Lao, John Thomas Chuatak, all of St. Jude Catholic School and Aldrich Aldwin Mayoralgo of Xavier School. Philippine Teams E and A bagged bronze medals in the group category;

WHEREAS, the silver medalists from the Philippines in the elementary individual contest are Dielle Tio of St. Stephen's High School, Hubert Yao of Iloilo Central Commercial High School, Sean Timothy Cheng of Grace Christian High School, and Aldrich Aldwin Mayoralgo of Xavier School;

WHEREAS, in the secondary division, the individual silver medalists are Carlo Francisco Adajar of PAREF Southridge in Alabang, Vance Eldric Go of St. Jude Catholic School, Ricci Ryan Rojo of Zamboanga Chong Hua High School, Geraldine Baniqued of St. Paul College Pasig, John Russell Virata of Gideon Academy and Jillian Kristel Sy of Chiang Kai Shek College;

WHEREAS, the bronze medalists in the individual contest in the IMC are:

- * Philip Lizarda of San Beda College, Alabang;
- * Austin Edrich Chua of St. Jude Catholic School;
- * Andrew Joelle Caguntas of Bangkal Elementary School;
- * Jakov Ivan Dumbrique of St. Paul College, Ilocos Sur;
- * Martin Lewis Koa of St. Jude Catholic School;
- * Richard Milante of Legazpi Hope Christian School;
- * Jason Allan Tan of Jubilee Christian Academy;
- * Arnold Lindros Lau of Xavier School;
- * Mary Kryslette Bunyi of San Beda College Alabang;
- * Regina Paz Onglao of St. Paul College Pasig;
- * Carmela Antoinette Lao of St. Jude Catholic School;
- * Evan Niccolo Lao of Xavier School;
- * Alvin Uy Lim of Quezon City Science High School;
- * Ervin Fredrick Dy of Chiang Kai Shek College;
- * Elvis Jeremy Ayroso of Philippine Science High School;
- * Arielle Elise Chua of St. Jude Catholic School;
- * Aileen Giselle Chua of Grace Christian High School;
- * Charles Rainier Belga of Taguig Science High School;
- * Joel Edward Cardinal of Makati Science High School;
- * Sterling Alvin Tiu of St. Stephen's High School;
- * John Thomas Chuatak of St. Jude Catholic School;
- * Aileen Jennifer Cu of UNO High School;
- * Joelle Sophia Pena of Saint Pedro Poveda College; and
- * Sarah Jane Cua of Pangasinan Universal Institute

WHEREAS, the Philippines placed fourth among 25 countries with China topping the contest with 51 medals followed by host Thailand with 49 and Indonesia, 41. Trailing the Philippines are Taiwan, 37; Bulgaria, 25; Hong Kong, 23; Singapore, 16; Malaysia, 10; and South Korea, 10;

WHEREAS, the other countries that participated in the contest are Australia, China, South Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Bulgaria, Thailand, Canada, Laos, Malaysia, The Netherlands, Nigeria, Australia, Bangladesh, Brunei, India, Germany, Iran, Rwanda, South Africa, and Cyprus;

WHEREAS, the trainers and coaches of the students are Dr. Eduardo Dela Cruz, dean of the School of Education and Normal of Arellano University; Sid Aguilar, supervisor of DepEd Taguig City; Priscilla De Sagun, assistant schools division superintendent of Makati; Levita Portugal of the Science Education Institute of the Department of Science and Technology; Roberto Degolacion, Manuel Kotah, Emmanuel Pena, Jonathan Glorial, all team and deputy team leaders;

WHEREAS, the Filipino students successfully rose above the challenge and proved that they can compete with other students from other countries;

NOW, THERFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE PHILIPPINES, to commend the Filipino students For winning 39 Medals in 2008 International Mathematics Competition held In Chiang Mai, Thailand and for contributing to the pride and honor of the global Filipino.

Adopted,