		42 14 2	19
OFFIC:	135		SECHETARY

4.19

FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session))	8	AUG 19
			and that

SENATE

P.S. Res. No.572

Introduced by Senator Loren Legarda

RESOLUTION HONORING AND COMMENDING THE OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF 2008

Whereas, education is an important tool in the progress and development of the country;

Whereas, teachers are key players in bringing the effects of education into fruition as they are instrumental in developing the capabilities of the young;

Whereas, amidst the difficulties our Filipino teachers are facing because of meager salaries and benefits and the deplorable condition of many of our school buildings, teaching materials and equipment, they remain reliable and dedicated in their duty of educating the youth;

Whereas, despite the valuable contribution of our teachers to the advancement of the country, their efforts continue to be largely unacknowledged and oftentimes taken for granted;

Whereas, paying homage to the country's unrecognized heroes, Metrobank Foundation through its annual Search for Outstanding Teachers has in the last twenty-four (24) years given tribute to teachers who have made a mark in education through their unwavering dedication to the teaching profession;

Whereas, the Metrobank Foundation has named the ten (10) Outstanding Teachers of 2008:

- 1. MS. JESUSA M. ANTIQUIERA Padre M. Gomez Elementary School
- 2. MRS. LYNN Z. PADILLO Naga Central School I
- 3. MRS. MAYDELYN R. ANTIOQUIA President Manuel Roxas Memorial School North
- 4. MRS. O MARIE THERESSE M. BAGAS West City Central School

- 5. MRS. ROWENA R, HIBANADA Pedro E. Diaz High School
- 6. MRS. ERMIE E. RABARA Midsayap-Dilangalen National High School
- 7. MRS. JEANETTE G. DIALS

 Mariano Marcos State University Laboratory High School Laoag

 Campus
- 8. MRS. NOEMI O. OBCENA Cagayan National High School
- 9. DR. IRMA R. MAKALINAO
 University of the Philippines Manila
- 10. DR. VIRGINIA C. CUEVAS
 University of the Philippines Los Baños

in recognition of their significant contribution in the field of education;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, by the Senate of the Philippines, to laud our teachers and the abovementioned awardees in particular for their commendable dedication to service and commitment in providing quality education.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA Senator