OFFAL A THE SECHETARY

FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES Second Regular Session

8 AUG 12 24 52

NECEIVED BY:

SENATE

P.S. Res. No. 565

INTRODUCED BY HON. MANNY VILLAR

RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE 2008 OUTSTANDING TEACHERS OF THE METROBANK FOUNDATION

WHEREAS, next to our parents, the teachers have the most impact on our lives and they instill in us the values of right and wrong and have made profound difference in the paths that we have chosen;

WHEREAS, one of the greatest roles of a teacher is empowering the mind of the students and persuading them to aspire more than they think they are capable of attaining;

WHEREAS, we should recognize the essential role of teachers in educational advancement, their important contributions in the development of humanity and modern society and their rights as members of a highly-regarded profession;

WHEREAS, despite the difficult task of molding the youth, the teachers are given meager salaries and benefits which barely support themselves and their families and yet they are overworked. Moreover, the equipment and facilities that they need in order for them to teach properly and more effectively are inadequate;

WHEREAS, notwithstanding the constraints, the teachers should be honored considering their honesty, dedication and for being in the noblest profession;

WHEREAS, for the last twenty four (24) years, the Metrobank Foundation, Inc. has honored 266 outstanding teachers of the Philippines and this year's ten (10) outstanding teachers were selected by the distinguished panel of judges;

WHEREAS, this year's winners consist of four (4) teachers in the elementary, four (4) in secondary and two (2) in the higher education levels, the Roll of Honor for 2008 Metrobank Foundation's Outstanding Teachers:

MS. JESUSA M. ANTIQUIERA

Padre M. Gomez Elementary School

MRS. LYNN Z. PADILLO Naga Central School I

MRS. MAYDELYN R. ANTIOQUIA President Manuel Roxas Memorial School North

MRS. O MARIE THERESSE M. BAGAS West City Central School

> MRS. ROWENA R. HIBANADA Pedro E. Diaz High School

MRS. ERNIE RABARA Midsayap-Dilangalen National High School

MRS. JEANETTE G. DIALS Mariano Marcos State University Laboratory High School- Laoag Campus

> MRS. NOEMI O. OBCENA Cagayan National High School

DR. IRMA MAKALINAO University of the Philippines- Manila

DR. VIRGINIA C. CUEVAS University of the Philippines- Los Baños

WHEREAS, the teachers are the beacons of unstinting dedication and commitment; Now therefore be it resolved, as it is hereby resolved that the Philippine Senate commends the 2008 Metrobank Foundation's Outstanding Teachers

Adopted.

MÄNNY VILLAR Senator