Cher . I GIVELT.	4HY
------------------	-----

FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF T REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES First Regular Session)))	7	DEC 12 P450
	SENATE PSR No. 249		RECEIVE	D BY: 4

Introduced by Senator Loren Legarda

A RESOLUTION

COMMENDING THE FOUR FILIPINO MEMBERS OF THE INTERGOVERNMENTAL PANEL ON CLIMATE CHANGE (IPCC) FOR BEING RECIPIENTS OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE FOR 2007 FOR THEIR COMMITMENT AND CONTRIBUTION IN THE MOVEMENT TO BUILD UP CLIMATE CHANGE AWARENESS

Whereas, in 12 October 2007, the Norwegian Nobel Committee awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 2007, in two equal parts, to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Albert Arnold (Al) Gore, Jr. for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to contract such change;

Whereas, the IPCC was created in 1988 as a scientific intergovernmental body by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to provide decision-makers and others interested in climate change with an objective source of information about climate change;

Whereas, four Filipino scientists, namely Dr. Rodel D. Lasco, Dr. Rosa T. Perez, Dr. Rex Victor O. Cruz and Dr. Juan M. Pulhin are among the thousands of scientists and officials from over one hundred countries that collaborated in the efforts of IPCC to achieve greater certainty as to the scale of global warming;

Whereas, the Norwegian Nobel Committee in its press release, dated 12 October 2007, proclaimed that the IPCC has created an ever-broader informed consensus about the connection between human activities and global warming;

Whereas, the Committee further maintained that indications of changes in the Earth's future climate must be treated with the utmost seriousness as extensive climate changes may alter and threaten the living conditions of mankind;

Whereas, Mr. Rajendra Pachauri, Chairman of the IPCC, remarked in the IPCC statement in reaction to the Nobel Peace Prize that "this is an honor that goes to all the scientists and authors who have contributed to the work of the IPCC, which alone has resulted in enormous prestige for this organization and the remarkable effectiveness of the message that it contains.";

Whereas, the recognition given to the IPCC and accordingly to the four mentioned scientists manifests the competency of the Filipinos and consequently, the role of the same in furthering environmental awareness and protection;

Whereas, the award shall serve as a beacon for the Filipino people, most especially the youth, in striving for greater heights as well as an exemplar that will motivate greater participation in abating the looming environmental crisis wrought by climate change and its causes;

NOW BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, to commend the four Filipino members of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) for being recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize for 2007 for their commitment and contribution in the movement to build up climate change awareness.

Adopted,

LOREN LEGARDA Senator