

## FIFTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

Second Regular Session

"11 JUL 19 P3:08

SENATE

P.S.R. No: 537

RECEIVED BY: Se

## RESOLUTION

Introduced by Senator Panfilo M. Lacson

DIRECTING THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON OF ACCOUNTABILY **PUBLIC OFFICERS** AND INVESTIGATIONS TO CONDUCT AN INQUIRY, IN AID OF LEGISLATION, AND TO EXERCISE ITS OVERSIGHT FUNCTIONS INTO THE ALLEGATIONS OF WIDESPREAD, SYSTEMATIC, ORGANIZED, AND MASSIVE POLL FRAUD AND ELECTION SABOTAGE IN THE 2004 AND 2007 NATIONAL ELECTIONS COMMITTED PARTICULARLY IN THE AUTONOMOUS REGION OF MUSLIM MINDANAO (ARMM) THROUGH MALFEASANCE, MISFEASANCE AND NON-FEASANCE IN PUBLIC OFFICE ALLEGEDLY BY NO LESS THAN FORMER PRESIDENT GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, FORMER COMELEC CHAIRMAN BENJAMIN ABALOS AND OTHER COMMISSIONERS AND PUBLIC OFFICERS OF THE COMELEC AS WELL AS PUBLIC **VARIOUS BRANCHES OFFICERS FROM** AND INSTRUMENTALITIES OF THE NATIONAL AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT

WHEREAS, the revelations of former Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) Governor Zaldy Ampatuan of the involvement of no less than former President now Pampanga Representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo in the 2004 poll fraud has resurrected the issue of the "Hello Garci" controversy;

WHEREAS, the "Hello Garci" wiretap scandal remained unresolved during the 13<sup>th</sup> and 14<sup>th</sup> Congresses;

WHEREAS, the "Hello Garci" wiretap scandal involves an alleged wiretap conversation between former President now Pampanga Representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo and former election Commissioner Virgilio "Garci" Garcillano, allegedly discussing the election operations in Mindanao during the 2004 presidential race;

WHEREAS, with the resurfacing of former COMELEC Maguindanao election supervisor Lintang Bedol alleging that massive cheating occurred in the presidential election won by Arroyo over the late actor Fernando Poe, Jr., this has further reinforced the probable veracity of the claims of Zaldy Ampatuan;

WHEREAS, both Zaldy Ampatuan and Lintang Bedol implicate the former President now Pampanga Representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo in the vote rigging operations in Maguindanao wherein the votes of then opposition senatorial candidates Noynoy Aquino, Alan Peter Cayetano, and Panfilo Lacson, all members of the Genuine Opposition were manipulated to reflect zero votes and to favor the administration party candidates;

WHEREAS, both Zaldy Ampatuan and Lintang Bedol allege that for the 2007 elections, there was a direct order from Malacanang to ensure a 12-0 win in favor of the Team Unity senatorial candidates;

WHEREAS, the alleged cheating in 2004 and 2007 would not have been possible without the indispensable cooperation and direct participation of public officers from the COMELEC and other branches and entities of the national and local governments involved in the electoral exercise;

WHEREAS, election fraud and electoral sabotage of this magnitude and scale cannot be committed without public officers committing malfeasance, misfeasance, and non-feasance in their respective offices;

WHEREAS, all public officers as well as private individuals conspiring and confederating to perpetuate this massive fraud should be held accountable to the sovereign Filipino people;

WHEREAS, the legislature through legislation should be able to enact laws to prevent future commission of widespread, systematic, organized and massive poll fraud;

WHEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, AS IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED, that the Philippine Senate direct the Senate Committee on Accountability of Public Officers and Investigations to conduct an inquiry, in aid of legislation and oversight into the allegations of widespread, systematic, organized, and massive poll election sabotage in the 2004 and 2007 national elections committed particularly in the Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) through the malfeasance. misfeasance, and non-feasance in public office by no less than former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, former COMELEC Chairman Benjamin Abalos and other Commissioners and public officers of the COMELEC as well as public officers from various and instrumentalities of the national government.

Adopted,

PANFILO M. LACSON