AN ACT TO GRANT THE FRANKING PRIVILEGE TO THE MEMBERS OF CONGRESS

Final Title

S. No. 52

FINAL ACTION:
R. A. No. 6650

AN CCT
TO EXTEND THE FRANKING PRIVILEGE OF THE MEMBERS
OF CONGRESS BEYOND AUGUST 30, 1987.

Introduced by Senator Saguisag

- Introduced by Senator Saguisag on August 12, 1987;

Read on first reading and referred to the Committees on Ethics and Privileges; and Public Services on August 12, 1987;

Returned by said Committee on Ethics and Privileges, with C.Rpt. No. 9, recommending its approval without amendment on August 31, 1987;

Returned by said Committee on Public Services, with C. Ppt. No. 10, recommending its approval without amendment on September 17, 1987;

Submitted said Reports to the Senate on September 22, 1987;

Assigned for consideration by Special Order on September 25, 1987;

Passed on second reading without amendment on October 20, 1987;

Printed copies distributed to the Senators on October 21, 1987;

Passed on third reading on November 9, 1987;

Sent to the House of Representatives requesting concurrence on November 10, 1987;

Senate requested the House of Representatives for a conference in relation to H. No. 2852 which deals on the same subject matter, designating Senators Osmeña, Saguisag and Enrile as its conferees on February 5, 1988;

The House of Representatives accepted the request and designated Congressmen Bagatsing (R.), Garduce (V.) and Doming; Jr. (S.) as its conferees at the same on February 10, 1988;

The Conference Committee recommending that S. No. 52 be approved with amendments;

Conference Committee Report agreed to by the House of Representatives on February 23, 1988;

Conference Committee Report agreed to by the Senate on February 22, 1988;
The Bill was presented to the President of the Philippines on March 11, 1988;
Approved by the President of the Philippines on March 14, 1988;
(Republic Act No. 6650)

In favor: (21)

Alvarez, Angara, Aquino, Enrile, Estrada, Gonzales, Guingona, Jr., Herrera, Laurel, Lina, Jr., Maceda, Mercado, Osmena, Paterno, Pimentel, Jr., Romulo, Saguisag, Salonga, Tamano, Tanada and Ziaga

Against - None

Abstention - None