Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Senate

Pasay City

Fourteenth Congress

Second Regular Session

Resolution No. 168

RESOLUTION HONORING AND REMEMBERING CORPORAL JO-KRIS L. FEGURA, CORPORAL JEFLOR Q. DELA TORRE AND PRIVATE FIRST CLASS FRANKLIN B. CASTILLO AND THE NINETEEN OTHER SOLDIERS WOUNDED IN INDANAN, SULU ON 16 MARCH 2009, ALL MEMBERS OF THE PHILIPPINE MARINES, FOR THEIR UNPARALLELED DEDICATION TO THE MILITARY SERVICE AND EXTRAORDINARY BRAVERY AND COURAGE IN THE CALL OF DUTY WHEREAS, Corporal Jo-Kris L. Fegura, Corporal Jeflor Q. Dela Torre and Private First Class Franklin B. Castillo were among the brave Marines assigned to cordon the Abu Sayyaf Group which kidnapped Swiss national Andreas Notter, Italian Eugenio Vagni and Filipina Mary Jean Lacaba, all members of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC);

WHEREAS, fighting erupted on 16 March 2008 between government forces and the Abu Sayyaf Group when Abu Sayyaf gunmen led by Albader Parad tried to break out of a loose cordon set up by government forces to box in dozens of the rebel group and their hostages in a hilly jungle near the town of Indanan, Sulu;

WHEREAS, the bloody encounter between government forces and the Abu Savvaf Group resulted in the deaths of Corporal Jo-Kris L. Fegura, Corporal Jeflor Q. Dela Torre and Private First Class Franklin B. Castillo and the wounding of 19 other members of the military contingent, namely: Lieutenant Cademer D. Cabrera, Sergeant Leonardo B. Pavba, Sergeant Cresinciano R. Desipeda, Corporal Reydinel T. Dagasgas, Corporal Winston D. Gupaal, Corporal Roland G. Ordanel, Corporal Jolly O. Espera, Corporal Philip O. Verzosa, Private First Class Charlie D. Rodriguez, Private First Class Rommel A. Cea, Private First Class Onofre R. Bolante, Private First Class Joel H. Bermejo, Private First Class Ian R. Reobilo, Private First Class Terejohn B. Cadosale, Private First Class Marco A, Torres, Private Eric F. Habla, Private Arnel A. Balnao, Private First Class Ruel E. Talisio and Private First Class Revmundo T. Olavra:

WHEREAS, Corporal Jo-Kris L. Fegura, Corporal Jeffor Q. Dela Torre and Private First Class Franklin B. Castillo deserve to be honored and remembered for their unparalleled dedication to the service by rendering the ultimate sacrifice of laying down their lives in the call of duty;

WHEREAS, Lieutenant Cademer D. Cabrera, Sergeant Leonardo B. Payba, Sergeant Cresinciano R. Desipeda, Corporal Reydinel T. Dagasgas, Corporal Winston D. Gupaal, Corporal Roland G. Ordanel, Corporal Jolly O. Espera, Corporal Philip O. Verzosa, Private First Class Charlie D. Rodriguez, Private First Class Rommel A. Cea, Private First Class Onofre R. Bolante, Private First Class Joel H. Bermejo, Private First Class Ian R. Reobilo, Private First Class Terejohn B. Cadosale, Private First Class Marco A. Torres, Private Eric F. Habla, Private Arnel A. Balnao, Private First Class Ruel E. Talisio and Private First Class Reymundo T. Olayra deserve to be honored for their bravery and dedication to the service: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the Senate, as it is hereby resolved, That:

(1) The Philippine Senate proudly honor and remember Corporal Jo-Kris L. Fegura, Corporal Jeflor Q. Dela Torre and Private First Class Franklin B. Castillo, for their valiant efforts to defend and uphold the peace and order situation in Mindanao;

(2) The Philippine Senate proudly recognize and commend Lieutenant Cademer D. Cabrera, Sergeant Leonardo B. Payba, Sergeant Cresinciano R. Desipeda, Corporal Reydinel T. Dagasgas, Corporal Winston D. Gupaal, Corporal Roland G. Ordanel, Corporal Jolly O. Espera, Corporal Philip O. Verzosa, Private First Class Charlie D. Rodriguez, Private First Class Rommel A. Cea, Private First Class Onofre R. Bolante, Private First Class Joel H. Bermejo, Private First Class Ian R. Reobilo, Private First Class Terejohn B. Cadosale, Private First Class Marco A. Torres, Private Eric F. Habla, Private Arnel A. Balnao, Private First Class Ruel E. Talisio and Private First Class Reymundo T. Olayra, for their bravery and dedication in maintaining the peace and continuing the government's efforts in curbing kidnapping incidents in the country;

Resolved, further, To provide copies of this Resolution to the families of Corporal Jo-Kris L. Fegura, Corporal Jeflor Q. Dela Torre and Private First Class Franklin B. Castillo; Lieutenant Cademer D. Cabrera, Sergeant Leonardo B. Payba, Sergeant Cresinciano R. Desipeda, Corporal Reydinel T. Dagasgas, Corporal Winston D. Gupaal, Corporal Roland G. Ordanel, Corporal Jolly O. Espera, Corporal Philip O. Verzosa, Private First Class Charlie D. Rodriguez, Private First Class Rommel A. Cea, Private First Class Onofre R. Bolante, Private First Class Joel H. Bermejo, Private First Class Ian R. Reobilo, Private First Class Terejohn B. Cadosale, Private First Class Marco A. Torres, Private Eric F. Habla, Private Arnel A. Balnao, Private First Class Ruel E. Talisio and Private First Class Reymundo T. Olayra; and the Armed Forces of the Philippines, to guarantee its wide dissemination so that the public may know about their bravery and unparalleled dedication to the military service.

Adopted,

President of the Senate

This Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 22, 2009.

IO-REYES Secretary of the Senate

0